6 Great Nonfiction Books on Aging and Growing Old

January 24th, 2019 by John Wilson

Your golden years should be the time to enjoy all of your favorite hobbies, but it can be challenging to know where to start or where to go next! If you reside in senior living, you likely have ample time on your hands to devote to your hobbies as much as you like. If you’re an avid reader, this means you’ve torn through several books by now; your reading list might even be emptied.

This blog is dedicated to senior bookworms looking for new additions to their 2019 reading list. All six of these books relate to a topic you’ve gradually been getting to know: that is, growing old and coming into your golden years.

The Year of Magical Thinking by Joan Didion

The Year of Magical Thinking begins at a turning point in author Joan Didion’s life. She has just lost her husband, and it’s this sudden and traumatic change that launches Didion into a new and profound experience with grief. The majority of the book features Didion’s recounting of her emotions and thought processes as she attempts to navigate grief alongside the avenues of her everyday life. This book may prove poignant for residents of senior living who have already experienced grief in some form, whether through the loss of a close friend or a spouse.

I Remember Nothing by Nora Ephron

You likely already recognize the name ‘Nora Ephron’ from the silver screen. I Remember Nothing functions as her memoir and features several short stories about her greatest desires, her past and her present. Fans of When Harry Met Sally and Ephron’s other films will appreciate this book.

Read these books while in senior living.

Reading is common for those in senior living.

The New Old Me by Meredith Maran

The New Old Me may appeal to senior members of the LGBT community or anyone just looking for an entertaining read. It follows the life of author Meredith Maran following the loss of everything she knew and held dear, right as she enters life as a senior. With her wife, savings and closest friend all gone, Maran seeks to reinvent her life in her own way.

Cicero’s How to Grow Old by Marcus Tullius Cicero

Philosophically-inclined residents of senior living communities in Oklahoma will definitely recognize the name “Cicero.” As it turns out, Cicero wrote extensively on aging following his forcible retreat to his estate. While Cicero’s writing may be ancient, his ideas may prove relatable to today’s seniors.

Aging and the Digital Life Course by Chiara Garattini and David Prendergast

In this book, editors Chiara Garattini and David Prendergast share fascinating insights into the current relationship between aging and modern technology. The book also seeks to offer advice to modern seniors who are trying to learn how to adapt to the rise of so many new innovations, something many residents of senior living communities in Oklahoma can relate to.

Being Mortal by Atul Gawande

Atul Gawande devotes his book to approaching the matter of aging from a wide-reaching historical and philosophical perspective. It also broaches the subject of death and dying and humanity’s relationship with this often harrowing fact of life.

We hope these books bring further insight, enlightenment and enjoyment to your life throughout your days in senior living communities in OKC. Contact us for more tips on how to make the most of senior living.

Leave a Reply